Featured

A 90,000-Word Manuscript, a Mailing List, and Lessons Learned

90,000 words later, and I find myself in this incredible state of positivity. Not only have I finished my first manuscript of the season, but I am also 23,000 words deep into a new fantasy novel manuscript. 

Copy of CurtisWritesBooksSocialMedia

Here are some updates for anyone subscribed to Curtis Writes Books and Paper Palaces!

Updates:

  • I recently finished my novel manuscript for The Witch’s Uprising, and now it is off to my editor for revisions. The manuscript totals 90,000 words of fantasy prose.
  • In the meantime, I am working on a new fantasy novel idea called Threadbare. You can read all about it in the link below:
  • Finally, I have a new mailing list. This list is for anyone interested in knowing when my books are published, what manuscripts I am working on, and exactly where you can read these novels, novellas, and short stories.

Kindle, eReaders, or traditional paper publications – you will know where to read my books. You can sign up for the mailing list / newsletter here.

Lorax and Curtis

By the way, my cat Lorax helps me review your emails for quality.


If you are not already subscribed to CurtisWritesBooks.com or PaperPalacesBlog.com, I strongly urge you to hit the subscribe button or adding your email to the widget in the sidebar. This separate email list will deliver my posts directly to your email / WordPress reader. If you choose to receive emails, you can set your subscription frequency to daily or weekly, whichever you prefer.

Thank you for all your support so far, and I hope your day is magical!

-Curtis

300 Hours of Writing, and Other Articles from Paper Palaces

Happy Saturday!

It’s been a few days since I’ve posted, as I have been working busily on updating the Paper Palaces site.

Below is a list of articles from Paper Palaces. I will keep this list on the Paper Palaces website here.

These are some of the most viewed and liked posts from my site. For some of you, these articles will look familiar. For others, these are completely new. Please take a look if you have the time!

If you I had to pick two, I would go with:


Most Popular Site Pages


Most Popular Articles

Curiosity Posts

Process Posts

 Reading Books and Blogs

Writing Books and Blogs

Setting Goals, Motivation, and Experimenting


Articles and Media via Email

Here are three different ways you can receive my articles, tips, and updates:

  1. Follow my blog on WordPress to receive these posts via email or in your WordPress reader. The button is in the sidebar!
  2. Join the Reader’s Club to receive a monthly newsletter with links to articles, media, and behind-the-scenes posts. You can join here.
  3. Become a Patron here.

I hope you enjoy!

 

-Curtis

Let’s Connect!

Instagram: @CurtisWritesBooks

Facebook: /curtisteichertbooks

Patreon: /CurtisWritesBooks

Twitter: @staghorncrown

WordPress: PaperPalacesBlog.com

1

Gratitude – Paper Palaces Has Reached Over 50 WordPress Followers

This is a note of gratitude for readers of Paper Palaces and Curtis Writes Books.

2

Thanks!

I’m grateful. My blog, PaperPalacesBlog.com, has gained over 50 WordPress followers. Over the past six months, I’ve connected with many writers on WordPress: book reviewers, travelers, armchair historians, and academics alike.

I want to take this moment to thank you for reading Paper Palaces and Curtis Writes Books. It means a lot to me to connect with you on the topics of reading, writing, and the motivation it takes to do both.

What’s Next?

Posting

I’m happy to say that I’m trying to write at least one solid post a day on Paper Palaces, but this is not yet a promise! Life pulls us in all sorts of directions, and finding the right direction is often fraught with difficulty. I find just having the goal of writing one post a day to be enough!

Books

I’m still working on all my fiction projects, and believe me, it’s hard to manage the time. No matter what, I will keep pushing to write as many books as possible in 2018 and beyond. Maybe I’ll work out a schedule this summer where I complete a writing session and post the day of, or on the very next day with a relevant topic.

More Media

I would really like to do more this summer with both Paper Palaces and Curtis Writes Books, perhaps adding videos and more media in general. Do you have any suggestions?

I am even toying with the idea of a barebones podcast to accompany the content. I’m a beginner at this so I may need your advice and feedback!

1

Let me know if you have any suggestions! Again, thank you for your support!

-Curtis


Let’s Connect!

 

Instagram: @CurtisWritesBooks

Facebook: /curtisteichertbooks

Patreon: /CurtisWritesBooks

Twitter: @staghorncrown

WordPress: PaperPalacesBlog.com


Like What You’re Reading? Check out the Reader’s Club.

 

Book blogs worth following. . . What are your thoughts?

Do you follow any book review blogs? Do you write a book review blog? What’s worth reading? If you can answer any of these questions, I welcome your feedback in this week’s questions to readers.

2


This Morning’s Paper Palaces Post

I just wrote a post this morning about Day Two of the 7-Day Reading challenge.

In today’s Paper Palaces post, I mentioned two bloggers who write book reviews. I wanted to ask any of my followers this week three simple questions:

Question for This Week

Do you follow any book review blogs?

Do you write a book review blog?

What’s worth reading?


Featuring Blogs / Vlogs

I’d like to compile a list of new and noteworthy book review blogs, interesting long-standing book review blogs, bloggers who consider themselves bibliophiles, and anyone else worth reading on the net.

Please let me know if you have any ideas in the comments below, or direct message me on Twitter or Instagram (links below).

-Curtis


1


Let’s Connect!

Do you follow any book review blogs? Do you write a book review blog? What’s worth reading?

 

Instagram: @CurtisWritesBooks

Facebook: /curtisteichertbooks

Patreon: /CurtisWritesBooks

Twitter:   @staghorncrown

WordPress: PaperPalacesBlog.com


Like What You’re Reading? Join the Reader’s Club or Become a Patron.

Read all of my 7-Day Challenge Articles here.


A Bubbling Community of Readers – Why the 7-Day Reading Challenge Works for So Many People

I’m excited about the next seven days. I am rebuilding my reading habit, and I’ve invited other people to do so over Instagram, Twitter, and WordPress.

The 7-Day Reading challenge is attracting a variety of readers, and it is my hope that we will have a reading community that bubbles with enthusiasm.

 

Over the next week, I urge you to participate in the 7-Day Reading Challenge. Here are the rules:

  1. Read every day for 20 minutes, for seven days.
  2. Post about what you read on Instagram, Twitter, or your blog, using the hashtag #ReadWithCurtis.

Feel free to post this image on your blog or other social media for others to know about the event:

#ReadWithCurtis (1)

My Role in the Challenge

I am both hosting and participating in this event through my PaperPalacesBlog.com, Instagram, and Twitter. In addition to the two rules outlined above, I have offered tips and guidelines to use throughout the week.

I will post my own responses via Instagram, Twitter, and WordPress, including daily tasks, bonus challenges, polls, and questions for those of you who want a more interaction and more challenge.

You can connect with me via Instagram (@CurtisWritesBooks) and Twitter (@staghorncrown).

1

Here are the bonus themes for each day at a glance.

You can use them or completely ignore them. This reading challenge works for so many people because of its versatility. Make it your own!

  • Monday: How did you start your week of reading?
  • Tuesday: What has gone well so far? What’s next?
  • Wednesday: What resonates with you from your reading?
  • Thursday: The Strangest Thing You Have Read
  • Friday: Connect With Another Reader
  • Saturday: Binge Read or Taste Books
  • Sunday: Reconnect with Yourself. How did the challenge go?

Remember to use the hashtag #ReadWithCurtis so we can see what you are reading!


What can I do today?

Since it is the day before the challenge, there is no official prompt. However, if you are moved to write a post, snap a picture of a book, or share an article via Twitter, feel free to start early!

For example, here’s a picture of a stack of books I may choose from this week:

IMG_4103

I hope to see you participating!

-Curtis


Do you want your blog or Instagram post featured during this challenge? Add a link back to this page or link to the #ReadWithCurtis guidelines article.


Read all of my 7-Day Challenge Articles here.

2

Like what you’re reading? Consider joining the Reader’s Club, or Become a Patron.


WP Prompt: Bubble

 

What one writer is saying about the 7-Day Reading Challenge . . .

If you haven’t heard, I’m hosting 7-Day Reading Challenge (#ReadWithCurtis) from May7th to May 14th, 2018. Here is what one blogger is saying about the challenge, her participation, and the reasons why she is participating.

2

Anna E. Hiller’s “A Reading Challenge, in So Many Ways”

Anna E. Hiller’s “A Reading Challenge, in So Many Ways”

The link above will take you to Medium.com, where Anna E. Hiller discusses her reasons for starting the 7-Day Challenge early. If you are interested in the challenge, I encourage you to participate. The official rules are listed in the image below.

Whether you want to create a stronger reading habit, or simply become a more consistent reader, you should consider the #ReadWithCurtis 7-Day Reading Challenge.

-Curtis

#ReadWithCurtis (1)

Other Resources Related to the 7-Day Reading Challenge

1

#ReadWithCurtis – 3 Reasons Why You Should Take the 7-Day Reading Challenge

From May 7th – May 14th, you are welcome to participate in a simple reading and posting challenge. If you’re a blogger on WordPress, or a bookworm that loves Instagram and Twitter, you should consider taking the challenge. Start early, on time, or after the official days. Your seven days are up to you. I will post during the official dates on Instagram and WordPress using the hashtag #ReadWithCurtis.

2

Visit PaperPalacesBlog.com for details on the 7-day Reading Challenge. Daily challenges start on May 7th, 2018. 

#ReadWithCurtis (1).png

Reason # 1 – Building or Strengthening a Habit

Participating in the challenge may help you build a consistent reading habit, or at the least, strengthen your current reading habit. By setting aside 20 minutes of reading time a day, you are starting a simple reading habit that can last a lifetime.

Reason # 2 – An Opportunity to Connect

Participating in the challenge will give you the opportunity to connect with other people on what you read. I have invited a few online friends and people in my life to join the challenge, and I hope you do the same. It’s fun to see what people read and share.

Reason # 3 – It’s fun!

Participating in the challenge is simply fun. Whether you are reading articles, a single book, or a variety of texts, you are bound to have fun sharing what you enjoy. Reading is an unbelievably stimulating activity, and sharing what you read, no matter what form, can be a gratifying process.

See the original post about the challenge here on my blog, PaperPalacesBlog.com

-Curtis

 

42 Followers – 4 Popular Posts from Paper Palaces Blog

2

 

Paper Palaces, my blog for crafting fiction and telling stories, has reached 42 followers today!

Here are three blog posts from Paper Palaces worth checking out:

 

 

 

1

Hope you enjoy!

-Curtis


become_a_patron_button